Thoughts from the mind of P Wizdom…

Archive for June 17, 2012

Poetic Wizdom: “Dad That I Had” Keystyle

“He didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it.”  ~Clarence Budington Kelland

Father’s Day was once again amazing for me and I enjoyed my family, yet I still have not figured the best balance between appreciating this day to honor Me as a father and dealing with the void of not having my father here with me.  Usually around this time, even when I am on a “writing hiatus” I end up writing something to release some of my thoughts.  I sat down at decided to type this to express how I was thinking about my father.  I am saddened and I am hurt without you here, but I am very appreciative of the time afforded to me and would never take it for granted.  I am sure I will get where I want to be and find that balance, but this year was not it.  RIP to my father!!! #ASNF

 

“Dad That I Had”

Glad for my dad and the time that I had/yet im sad for the lad that never had the dad that I had/though dad became mad when his lad was too bad/to clad good with the bad/and happiness with sad/mad just a tad/but glad that my dad/showed a lad is value add/ A lads madness with his dad/Like plaid it was a fad/losing a dad that I had left darkness on a lad/though a dad left us sad and yes a lad was mad/the plan was not his dads but the plan of his Dad!/so for the lad without a dad/like the dad that I had/dont be mad at your dad/but be thankful for the time that you had/when the dad that you had/is called home by his Dad/and if your dad leaves you sad/leave your tears on writing pads/

It is much easier to become a father than to be one.  ~Kent Nerburn

Please appreciate the time you have had with your father or your father figure.  Please take the time to let them know how you feel and how thankful you are for them.  Do not wait until tomorrow, because tomorrow may not be here.  It takes a special person to be a father and leaves even a bigger void when they are gone.

“Sometimes the poorest man leaves his children the richest inheritance.” – Ruth E. Renkel

“Any man can be a father.  It takes someone special to be a dad.” – Author Unknown

 “The greatest gift I ever had Came from God; I call him Dad!” – Author Unknown